The End of the Aftermath of the Empire’s End (or something like that)

Star Wars – Battlefront II: Mission 9 – Cache Grab:  I’ve really enjoyed this contextual replay of the campaign.  In this segment, Lando and Shriv are on a mission to destroy an AT-AT manufacturing plant (and a whole lot of stormies!)
Star Wars – Lost Stars (Chapter 26): Easily the most challenging read in this chronological reading list as I really want to finish it, a really good entry into the Disney canon.
Star Wars Adventures – Destroyer Down, The Ghost Ship (Pts 1,2 and 3): This story happens at the beginning of the Battle of Jakku.  It references Grand Admiral Sloane issuing directives but at the point at which this happens, she’s not in charge.  I’ll want to revisit the timeline aspects of this to make more sense of it.
Star Wars – “Blade Squadron: Jakku” (Star Wars Insider #172 : Not sure if this is the end of Blade Squadron or not but this story takes place just after Temmin crash lands.  It’s supposed to weave into Empire’s End but there’s difficulty there as well that I’ll want to revisit and see how it can fit properly.

Star Wars – Aftermath: Empire’s End  (Full Review)
From previous reviews, it’s painfully obvious that I haven’t been a fan of this trilogy nor Chuck Wendig’s writing style.  No changes after reading this book.  By the third book, I’d expect some level of attachment to the characters and for me, there wasn’t any.  Norra Wexley and her son Snap, aren’t key players in The Force Awakens and this series really doesn’t set up that story at all.  Not every book has to make a huge impact but I’ve always felt that a trilogy of books should have a wide impact on the overarching story as a whole.  The only impactful things we get are the end of the Empire officially (and to me, that really happened with Return of the Jedi and the defeat of the Emperor/Vader) and the birth of Ben Solo.

As for the other characters, Rax ends up being a one-off character that has no bearing on the future that I can tell.  Sinjir and Jas haven’t shown up anywhere so again, more one-offs.  The only character I really come away from this caring anything about is Rae Sloane and I know she’s addressed in the Epilogue which I haven’t gotten to yet. The only other character that appears in The Force Awakens is Armitage Hux but at this point, he’s a child and not a whole lot of time is spent there.  Maybe we’ll get more of that going forward, I’m not sure since I haven’t read beyond this point.

This book was extremely long and felt as Wendig was over-describing events.  The plot breaks up to focus on different aspects but gets lost along the way because of his descriptive rambling.  There were storytelling points that I felt were unnecessary and pulled me out of the story.  Some people like the trilogy but for me, I’m glad it’s not the first books of the new canon that I’ve read as I’m not sure I’d have continued.

Up Next:
Star Wars – Battlefront II: Mission 10 – The Battle of Jakku
Star Wars – Battlefront II: Mission 11 – Until Ashes
Star Wars – Poe Dameron #8, “The Gathering Storm, Part I” (pg. 6-9)
Star Wars – Lost Stars (Chapters 27-29)
Star Wars – Aftermath: Empire’s End (Epilogue)
Star Wars – Poe Dameron #8, “The Gathering Storm, Part I” (pg. 16, 18-20)

Leave a comment